「我覺得自己像隻小灰鼠,無助地被送往貓兒口中。」

瑪麗布萊福(老鼠)才剛抵達柏金斯女子中學,離開了她成長的小鎮,也離開了她的父親與繼母。老鼠很快地與她了兩個年長室友混熟了,一個是充滿活力而機伶的寶莉,一個是美麗而迷人的杜莉。她們三人因失落的命運而連在一起:老鼠失去了母親,寶莉的母親丟下她給人領養,杜莉則失去了自己以迎合父母的期望。因此,她們之間已密不可分。

即使她們是老鼠曾擁有過最要好的朋友,老鼠對寶莉和杜莉兩人的超乎朋友的關係還是相當迷惑。

然而,當有一天寶莉和杜莉陷入了一個無可挽回必須妥協的處境中,這個快樂的世界很快就毀滅了。由於杜莉無法勇敢地對家人悍衛自己與寶莉的關係,她選擇屈服於世俗壓力,於是疏遠寶莉、也封閉了自己的感覺。寶莉則激烈地拒絕順從世俗壓力,拼命掙扎想要留住杜莉。老鼠夾在兩個朋友之間也非常痛苦。

寶莉與她救來的獵隼發展了一段同病相憐的關係,就此一段悲劇的陰影逐漸籠罩了她。杜莉為了證明自己性向正常,而屈服於一個鄰校男孩的癡情,這讓寶莉抓狂而失控了,走向一個悲劇性的結果。

《意亂情迷》關於三個少女間的友情,以及他們在一個寄宿學校中如何經驗這段友情。全片中,這些失落少女們不停思索她們之間的關係,也不斷質疑外界的凝視;在這迷惘的青澀歲月中,她們渴切地尋找真愛與情感的連結。

(引自 Lions Gate 電影公司官方新聞稿,2001)

“I felt like a tiny grey mouse heading straight for the mouth of a cat”

Mouse Bradford has just arrived at Perkins Girls College. She has left behind the small town where she grew up, her father and her stepmother. Mouse is quickly adopted by her two senior roommates, the striking, sharp-witted Paulie and the charming and beautiful Tory. These three bond over loss. Mouse has lost her mother, Paulie lost the parents who gave her up for adoption and Tory is losing herself to fit her parents’ expectations. They become inseparable.

Although they are the closest friends Mouse has ever had, she is still confused by the depth of the relationship between Paulie and Tory.

This world comes crashing down when Tory and Paulie are inadvertently caught in a compromising situation. Unable to justify their relationship to her family, Tory gives in to the pressure and distances herself from Paulie and her own feelings. Defiantly refusing to submit, Paulie struggles to keep Tory. Mouse is left torn between her friends.

A haunting connection with the falcon she rescued begins to cloud Paulie’s mind. When Tory gives in to a boy’s infatuation to prove she is normal, it drives Paulie to strike out with dramatic consequences.

Lost and Delirious is about the friendship of three teenagers and how they experience it in a private school. Throughout the film, the lost girls question their relationships with one another and the authority of others, while desperately attempting to seek out true love and meaningful emotional connections in their confused adolescent life.

(taken from the Lions Gate Films press kit, 2001)